Ordinary Items Make Art

Laura Bell’s recreation of “The Last Supper” using laundry lint.

Today, I read an article on Art Daily about a woman who recreated “The Last Supper” by Leonardo da Vinci using only laundry lint. That’s right — laundry lint. My boyfriend once made a “lint monster” out of the lint on my carpet (he even put paper eyes on it!) but it was not nearly as cool, or gross, as this recreation.

This got me thinking…what other off the wall creations are out there, made out of everyday items?

So, I did a little research and found some amazing creations by ordinary, and no so ordinary, people. Here are my top picks:

by Oppenheim

Meret Oppenheim’s “Object” 1936. Fur-covered cup, saucer, and spoon.

1. Oppenheim was a Surrealist artist, which emphasized transforming everyday objects by using your imagination. Oppenheim created this truly unique fur-lined teacup in 1936. Can you say hairball?  You can find more on his work on the MOMA website.

Queral’s phone book version of Einstein.

2. Artist Alex Queral creates portraits from carving through old phone books with a razor blade or artist’s scalpel. Queral began creating these marvels in the 1990s, focusing on iconic figures such as Einstein, President Obama, Clint Eastwood, and The Beatles, just to name a few. Here’s a good story on his work if you’re interested.

Minion

Wilson

Bubblegum

 

3. The blog Lunch Bag Art is written by a father who creates amazing lunch bag art for his kids everyday.  His blog features art depicting recognizable cartoons and characters, as well as some unique creations. And I thought my childhood was cool!

Tangled

Second Best

4. The Sharpie Blog features some great work using…you guessed it…Sharpies! Cheeming Boey, an artist on the “Sharpie Squad,” created some very detailed work on Styrofoam cups. Cheers!

Share other interesting, unique, and off-the-wall art in the comments below!

3 responses to “Ordinary Items Make Art

  1. The phone book Einstein is my favorite! LOVE IT! The entire concept of making things you use everyday and then just toss out, into objects of art fascinates me.
    I don’t know how well saving lint so I could make my own masterpiece would work out though. I’m not nearly organized or motivated to color-code my lint. Heck, I can hardly color code my laundry.
    Great blog post with awesome pictures!

    • Thanks, Tammie. The phone book art fascinated me too! Did you click the link about that artist? It shows more of his work.

      As for laundry lint, I don’t know about you, but mine is never that colorful!

  2. Pingback: Feature: Nicholai Khan Dishes On Urban Contemporary Art | Art Dish·

Leave a Reply

